CreateStories.app

The best story generators for kids in 2026

Some story makers write a book for your child. Others help your child write it. Here’s how six popular choices compare, and which one fits your family.

We make CreateStories.app, so we’ve put it first. Everything about the other apps comes from their own websites, checked on 23 October 2026. Prices change, so check before you buy.

Our picks

  • CreateStories.app:Kids aged 7–13 who want to write their own story, with their family as the characters
  • KlugStory:Parents who want a low-cost AI picture book to print at home
  • Genie in a Book:A printed paperback or hardcover gift
  • Lumora:Narrated bedtime stories for young children, with a hardcover option
  • StoryMine:A narrated digital story for a young child, checked by a person
  • Storybird:Kids who want to write over professional illustrations, without AI pictures

Side by side

CreateStories.appKlugStoryGenie in a BookLumoraStoryMineStorybird
Who writes the storyThe child. They plan the characters, world and plot; Story Helper (AI) turns the plan into a draft, and the child edits it. Or pick a ready-made story and choose who plays each part.The parent picks a topic and the AI writes the story.The parent uploads photos and a prompt; AI writes a 12-page story.The parent gives details; AI writes the story.StoryMine writes it; a person checks each story.The child writes, choosing artwork from Storybird's artist gallery.
Family photosYes: family, friends and pets, or invented charactersYes: a hero plus up to 4 more people or petsYes: up to 6 people and petsYes: the child, from a single photoYes: the child, and a pet if you likeNo: artwork comes from its gallery
Ages7–13, younger with a grown-upNot statedThe parent chooses an age range1–12Younger children (sample books are for ages 3–7)Older kids (sample shows 9+)
PriceFirst story free, then $2.99 a story or $9.99 for 5. No subscription.50 free credits on sign-up. A 12-page book is 73 credits (about $0.73), a 32-page book 133 credits (about $1.33).Characters, cover and first pages free. Colouring book $15, paperback $35, hardcover $50.First story free. $9.99 for a narrated digital book with PDF, or $14.99 a month / $99 a year.3 illustrated pages free. $9.90 for a digital book with PDF and audio.Free Basic plan for reading. Individual plan $4.99 a month.
PrintingNo print service. Printable PDF, a gift card with a QR code, and a share link.No print service. PDF to print at home or at a print shop.Yes. Each book is checked by a real person before printing.Yes. Hardcover $49.99 plus shipping.No printed books.PDF download on the paid plan.
Photo privacyUploaded photos are never shown on shared stories. CreateStories.app doesn't train AI on your photos or stories. Deleting your account deletes them.Says photos are visible only to your account and never used to train AI. Account holders must be 18 or over.Only a parent or guardian may upload a child's photo. Its privacy policy says deletion may not be immediate or complete.Says photos never train AI and are deleted on request.Says photos are removed within 24 hours of making the book and never used to train AI.Public stories and comments are reviewed by moderators.

CreateStories.app

Best for: Kids aged 7–13 who want to write their own story, with their family as the characters

Who writes the story
The child. They plan the characters, world and plot; Story Helper (AI) turns the plan into a draft, and the child edits it. Or pick a ready-made story and choose who plays each part.
Family photos
Yes: family, friends and pets, or invented characters
Ages
7–13, younger with a grown-up
Price
First story free, then $2.99 a story or $9.99 for 5. No subscription.
Printing
No print service. Printable PDF, a gift card with a QR code, and a share link.
Photo privacy
Uploaded photos are never shown on shared stories. CreateStories.app doesn't train AI on your photos or stories. Deleting your account deletes them.
Make your first story free

KlugStory

Best for: Parents who want a low-cost AI picture book to print at home

Who writes the story
The parent picks a topic and the AI writes the story.
Family photos
Yes: a hero plus up to 4 more people or pets
Ages
Not stated
Price
50 free credits on sign-up. A 12-page book is 73 credits (about $0.73), a 32-page book 133 credits (about $1.33).
Printing
No print service. PDF to print at home or at a print shop.
Photo privacy
Says photos are visible only to your account and never used to train AI. Account holders must be 18 or over.

Source: klugstory.com, klugstory.com (checked 23 October 2026)

Genie in a Book

Best for: A printed paperback or hardcover gift

Who writes the story
The parent uploads photos and a prompt; AI writes a 12-page story.
Family photos
Yes: up to 6 people and pets
Ages
The parent chooses an age range
Price
Characters, cover and first pages free. Colouring book $15, paperback $35, hardcover $50.
Printing
Yes. Each book is checked by a real person before printing.
Photo privacy
Only a parent or guardian may upload a child's photo. Its privacy policy says deletion may not be immediate or complete.

Source: genieinabook.com, genieinabook.com (checked 23 October 2026)

Lumora

Best for: Narrated bedtime stories for young children, with a hardcover option

Who writes the story
The parent gives details; AI writes the story.
Family photos
Yes: the child, from a single photo
Ages
1–12
Price
First story free. $9.99 for a narrated digital book with PDF, or $14.99 a month / $99 a year.
Printing
Yes. Hardcover $49.99 plus shipping.
Photo privacy
Says photos never train AI and are deleted on request.

Source: lumora.kids (checked 23 October 2026)

StoryMine

Best for: A narrated digital story for a young child, checked by a person

Who writes the story
StoryMine writes it; a person checks each story.
Family photos
Yes: the child, and a pet if you like
Ages
Younger children (sample books are for ages 3–7)
Price
3 illustrated pages free. $9.90 for a digital book with PDF and audio.
Printing
No printed books.
Photo privacy
Says photos are removed within 24 hours of making the book and never used to train AI.

Source: storymine.app, storymine.app (checked 23 October 2026)

Storybird

Best for: Kids who want to write over professional illustrations, without AI pictures

Who writes the story
The child writes, choosing artwork from Storybird's artist gallery.
Family photos
No: artwork comes from its gallery
Ages
Older kids (sample shows 9+)
Price
Free Basic plan for reading. Individual plan $4.99 a month.
Printing
PDF download on the paid plan.
Photo privacy
Public stories and comments are reviewed by moderators.

Source: storybird.com (checked 23 October 2026)

Questions from parents

What is the best story generator for kids?

It depends on who you want to make the story. If your child aged 7–13 wants to write it, CreateStories.app guides them through planning and editing their own book. If a parent wants a finished book for a young child, KlugStory, Lumora, StoryMine and Genie in a Book write it for you.

Can kids write their own story with AI?

Yes. In CreateStories.app the child plans the characters, world and plot, AI turns that plan into a first draft, and the child edits it until it sounds like them. Storybird is a good choice for kids who want to write every word themselves, over professional artwork.

Is it safe to upload my child's photo?

Read each app's privacy policy first. Look for whether photos are used to train AI, whether other people can see them, and whether deleting your account deletes them. CreateStories.app never shows uploaded photos on shared stories and doesn't train AI on them.

Which kids' story apps print real books?

Genie in a Book prints paperbacks and hardcovers, and Lumora prints hardcovers. CreateStories.app and KlugStory give you a PDF to print at home or at a print shop.